Awards Login
Forgotten password
Enter the email address you registered with below.
Awards Timetable

One of the longest standing and most prestigious design awards in the world, promoting excellence in design and innovation since 1958.

Managed by Good Design Australia, Australia's Good Design Awards proudly promotes the very best in design, innovation and creativity at a national and international level. From a credible, trusted independent platform, the Good Design Awards showcase superior examples of good design across a broad range of industries and design disciplines.

Through the Good Design Awards and other design promotion initiatives, Good Design Australia is passionate about helping to create a better world that is capable of change through design.

Entries to the Good Design Awards are accepted in the following categories:

1. Product Design
2. Service Design
3. Digital Design
4. Communication Design
5. Architectural Design
6. Social Innovation
7. Business Model Design


The Young Australian Design Awards is a national design award for young Australian designers, engineers, innovators and entrepreneurs. The Awards were created to inspire a new generation of Australian designers and thinkers and to help foster a culture of design, innovation and creativity in Australia.

The Young Australian Design Awards is proudly organised by Good Design Australia.

Entrants to the Young Australian Design Awards have an opportunity to win Awards and a share in $25,000 in cash prizes in the following categories:

Young Australian Designer of the Year Award - $10,000
Design Innovation Award - $5,000
Design Technology Award - $5,000
Design Sustainability Award - $5,000

The Patron’s Prize for Australian Design was created to recognise and celebrate the best Australian designed product or service in the annual Good Design Awards and is awarded to an entry that has the potential to shape the future economic, social, cultural and environmental aspects of our planet.

The Museum of Applied Arts and Sciences
Since 1992 the Powerhouse Museum, part of the Museum of Applied Arts and Sciences (MAAS), has recognised excellence in Australian product design with its own Design Award and Selection as part of the annual Australian Good Design Awards. The winning products are displayed in the Powerhouse Museum for one year. Some of these products and relevant design models and documents are added to the Museum's permanent collection of Australian design.

The Museum of Applied Arts and Sciences Selection is made from the annual Good Design Awards finalists and the criteria include good design, innovation and the significance of a product to Australia's material culture. Products must demonstrate innovation in design, technology or materials that are of real benefit to users. They must also show potential to become important in the lives of Australians, be significant to Australian industry or provide an opportunity for Australian design to be recognised in the global marketplace.

The Museum of Applied Arts and Sciences Design Award is given to a product that has potential to make a significant improvement to the quality of health, wellbeing or the environment. This Award recognises the important role for design in harnessing the challenges of science and technology to make a positive impact on our lives.

Museum of Applied Arts and Sciences Selection
The Museum of Applied Arts and Sciences (MAAS) is Australia’s contemporary museum for excellence and innovation in applied arts and sciences. Established in 1879, venues include Powerhouse Museum, Sydney Observatory and Discovery Centre. The Museum is uniquely placed to demonstrate how technology, engineering, science and design impact Australia and the world. MAAS is the only museum that actively collects and exhibits Australian product design - from drawings, models and prototypes to the final product.

This record of Australian creativity and innovation is seen around the world through the Museum's online collection database. The Museum of Applied Arts and Sciences (MAAS) Design Award and Selection, presented as part of the annual Good Design Awards, are displayed at the Powerhouse Museum each year.

2015 MAAS Design Award
Blundstone 980 Underground Mining Boot

2015 MAAS Selection
3000 Collection: Collaborative Work Pods
Agilent 4300 Handheld FTIR Spectrometer
Ampcontrol VoiceCom Telephone
Blackmagic URSA
Brickworks Building Products: The Gehry Collection
ecoTHREAD Blanket
ESIM2.0 Environmental Stress Index Monitor
Goshawk – Emergency Rescue Tool
Ninja Sphere
O Six Hundred Kayak
Optimised Positioning System OPS
Phenomec VR Smartview
Virtual Jeff – Digital Whammy Bar System
Ziegler and Brown Portable Grill

The annual Design Institute of Australia Award recognises an Australian professional designer, design team or design company who has made a significant impact in the Australian Good Design Awards over the year.

This Award has been established in conjunction with Good Design Australia and the Design Institute of Australia to recognise the professional design contribution made to products and services submitted to the annual Good Design Awards program.

Design Institute of Australia Award Winners

2014 Design Institute of Australia Award
Design + Industry

2015 Design Institute of Australia Award
Catalyst Design Group

The Premier’s Design Awards recognise and reward Victorian designers and businesses using exemplar design effectively and sustainably.

The Awards provide an opportunity for Victorian businesses and the community to better understand the role of design in making products and services more functional, efficient and attractive, and ultimately increasing productivity and business outcomes.

Good Design Australia is proud to manage the Victorian Premier's Design Awards on behalf of the Victorian Government.

Entries to the Awards are accepted in the following categories:

1. Architectural Design
2. Service Design
3. Industrial and Product Design
4. Communication Design
5. Digital Design
6. Design Strategy